Vice Presidents of the Circuits

Vice Presidents of the Circuits

An integral part of the national operation of the Federal Bar Association is its circuit structure and the corresponding two Vice Presidents for each Circuit.  The circuits are the same as the 12 Federal Judicial Circuits and encompass the states, territories, and possessions of the United States.

First Circuit

Katherine Gonzalez-Valentín

Katherine González-Valentín is a Senior Member at Ferraiuoli, LLC and Chair of the Labor & Employment Department.

Chris Sullivan

Chris Sullivan is a partner with Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi LLP in Boston, Massachusetts. He is in charge of the firm's commercial litigation and business practice in the Boston office.

Second Circuit

Ernest T. Bartol

Ernest T. Bartol received a Juris Doctorate Degree from Villanova University School of Law in 1970. Admitted to the New York Bar in 1971, Mr. Bartol served the President of the Federal Bar Association Eastern District of New York Chapter from 2011-2013

John G. McCarthy

John G. McCarthy is a Partner in the Litigation Practice and Commercial and Bankruptcy Law Practice of Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP in its New York office.

Third Circuit

Hon. Karoline Mehalchick

The Honorable Karoline Mehalchick is a United States Magistrate Judge in Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, where she was appointed to the bench of the United States District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania on July 15, 2013.

Bridget E. Montgomery

Bridget Montgomery is a member of Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC, and chair of the Harrisburg office Litigation Group.

Fourth Circuit

Andrew K. Clark

Andrew Clark is a shareholder with LeClairRyan, PC, an entrepreneurial law firm headquartered in Richmond, Virginia that provides business counsel and client representation in matters of corporate law and high-stakes litigation.

Christie C. Varnado

Christine “Christie” Companion Varnado joined The Seibels Law Firm, P.A. in Charleston, South Carolina as a partner in 2009. Since 1993, her civil litigation practice has...

Fifth Circuit

J. Todd Hedgepeth

Todd Hedgepeth currently serves as the Director of the Air Force's Texas Labor Law Field Support Center, where he and his staff represent the United States Air Force in...

Marc W. Taubenfeld

Marc practices in both the controversies section and the bankruptcy section of McGuire, Craddock & Strother PC in Dallas, and is a shareholder and director of the firm.

Sixth Circuit

Tonya Kennedy Cammon

Tonya Cammon focuses her practice on employment and commercial litigation, as well as health law transactions and litigation.

James W. Satola

Jim joined the Federal Bar Association in 1992. He has been member of the FBA Northern District of Ohio Chapter Board of Directors since 1996, and was President of the Chapter from 2002-2003.

Seventh Circuit

Sheri H. Mecklenburg

Sheri Mecklenburg was appointed to serve as a Vice President for the Seventh Circuit in 2012. She has served on the Board of Directors of the Chicago Chapter for four years. She is currently serving as the Chapter Treasurer.

Maria Z. Vathis

Maria Z. Vathis has been a member of the Federal Bar Association since the beginning of her legal career. She served as Chicago Chapter President in 2011.

Eighth Circuit

Robert C. Gainer

Bob has a general practice, including but not limited to Bankruptcy, Commercial Litigation, Workers' Compensation, and Collections work.

Daniel C. Hedlund

Daniel C. Hedlund has been a Federal Bar Association member since 1998.

Ninth Circuit

Alison S. Bachus

Alison S. Bachus is Senior Counsel for the Federal Bureau of Prisons in Phoenix, Arizona. Before working for the Bureau of Prisons, Alison served as an Assistant U.S. Attorney for seven years.

Joseph S. Leventhal

Joe Leventhal is a litigator with extensive experience representing clients of all sizes, from Fortune 250 companies to individuals at the highest levels of corporate America and the U.S. government.

Tenth Circuit

Jonathan O. Hafen

Jonathan Hafen has extensive experience representing clients in federal and state courts. He has been widely praised by clients and peers for his skilled and efficient approach to litigation.

Christopher M. Stephens

Chris M. Stephens is an Assistant U.S. Attorney in Oklahoma City, where he prosecutes financial fraud and white-collar crimes.

Eleventh Circuit

Brett A. Barfield

Brett A. Barfield is a business litigation partner at Holland & Knight LLP where he has practiced since 2000.

Richard S. Dellinger

Richard Dellinger is partner in Lowndes, Drosdick, Doster, Kantor and Reed, P.A. and his practice includes civil litigation, federal civil and criminal litigation, personal injury, wrongful death, and family law.

District of Columbia Circuit

Elizabeth Pugh

Elizabeth Pugh has enjoyed a 36-year distinguished career in government service. For the past 16 years, she has served as General Counsel of the Library of Congress.

Steven R. Miller

Steve Miller currently serves as president of the District of Columbia Chapter, having previously served in various offices with the chapter and on its board.