FBA Awards Program

FBA Awards Program

The FBA honors individuals, chapters, and sections and divisions with a number of annual awards recognizing exceptional service and outstanding achievement. The 2019 deadline for submissions is June 15.

How to Apply
If you need an application for any of the FBA awards, please click on the appropriate application below.

Each of these awards is presented at separate functions during the FBA Annual Meeting and Convention.

Earl W. Kintner Award for Distinguished Service
The Earl W. Kintner Award for Distinguished Service is presented as a lifetime contribution award to an FBA member who has displayed long-term outstanding achievement, distinguished leadership, and participation in the activities of the association’s chapters, sections, and divisions throughout the nation over a career of service. The prestigious award honors the late National President Earl W. Kintner, whose two terms (1956-57 and 1958-59) and continued service to the association and its affiliated organizations (president of the Foundation of the FBA and the Federal Bar Building Corporation) serve as the highest standard of dedicated service. The Kintner Award is not intended to recognize purely local contributions, no matter how worthy.

Hon. Sarah T. Hughes Civil Rights Award
Named after the renowned federal district judge from Dallas, Texas, the Sarah T. Hughes Civil Rights Award was created to honor that man or woman who promotes the advancement of civil and human rights amongst us, and who exemplifies Judge Hughes’ spirit and legacy of devoted service and leadership in the cause of equality. Judge Hughes was a pioneer in the fight for civil rights, due process, equal protection, and the rights of women. The Award will be presented each year to an attorney or judge whose career achievements have made a difference in advancing the causes that were important to Judge Hughes. Such work may include either ground-breaking achievement or a body of sustained and dedicated work in the area of civil rights, due process, and equal protection.

Ilene and Michael Shaw Public Service Award
Made possible by the generous contributions of Ilene and Michael Shaw, the Federal Bar Association seeks each year to recognize the many public service programs sponsored by FBA chapters nationwide. Designed to assist and encourage members in providing service to their communities, the Ilene and Michael Shaw Public Service Award not only gives needed funds to continue such worthwhile efforts, but also provides seed money to plan and implement public service programs. A $5,000 grant will be awarded to the recipient.

Ilene and Michael Shaw FBA Younger Lawyer Public Service Grant
These grants enable FBA chapters to provide service to the public through the development and implementation of public service projects and pro bono law related services. To encourage an increased and continued commitment to public service responsibility by young lawyers, these projects should be administered under the auspices of a chapter Younger Lawyer Committee. A $5,000 grant will be awarded to the recipient. All FBA chapters are encouraged to apply. However, chapters without an existing Younger Lawyer Committee will be required to establish one to administer the grant.

Elaine R. “Boots” Fisher Award
The Elaine R. “Boots” Fisher Award was established by the FBA Northern District of Ohio Chapter as a memorial to the outstanding and unselfish contributions made by “Boots” Fisher to improve the quality of life and opportunities for all persons. The award is intended to stimulate, encourage, and recognize exemplary community, public, and charitable service by FBA members.

The Robyn J. Spalter Outstanding Achievement Award
The namesake of the Outstanding Achievement Award is the late National FBA President Robyn J. Spalter. Robyn embodied the essence of the Outstanding Achievement Award because as she climbed the national leadership ladder to become President, she “always focused on the importance of new and younger lawyers and the role that they would play in the future growth of the FBA,” Matthew B. Moreland, Former FBA National President. The primary goal of the Robyn J. Spalter Outstanding Achievement Award is to encourage younger members of the federal bar to attain high standards of professionalism, demonstrate leadership throughout their career and give back to the legal community. The award is intended recognize a member of the FBA who joined as a “younger attorney” for their meaningful legal, community, public and/or charitable service.

Younger Federal Lawyer Awards
The primary goal of this program is to encourage younger federal lawyers to attain high standards of professional achievement and to accord public recognition for outstanding performance. Any civilian or military attorney who is employed by the U.S. government shall be eligible to receive an award except for the following: no nominee will be considered if he or she has reached or will reach age forty (40) before September 1 of the current fiscal year; no nominee will be considered if, at the time the award is presented, he or she has served with the government as an attorney less than three continuous years; no nominee will be considered for an award if the services constituting the primary basis for his or her nomination were required because of a political consideration.

Chapter Activity Awards
The FBA recognizes the diligent work and accomplishments that outstanding FBA chapters have made throughout the year. Two levels of recognition will be awarded: (1) Presidential Excellence Awards and (2) Presidential Achievement Awards. Awards will be given to all chapters whose applications demonstrate that the chapter has fulfilled the established criteria. Additionally, Presidential Citation Awards may be given to those chapters that do not qualify for either of the Chapter Activity Awards categories, but have held an outstanding event or program in the last year.

Newsletter Recognition Awards
These awards recognize the best newsletters published by chapters in each of the four chapter groups, as well as those published by sections, divisions, and committees to stimulate and encourage continued production of these valuable communication tools. Any FBA chapter, section, division, or committee that has published at least two issues of its newsletter in the previous year, is eligible to enter. Judging of the newsletters will focus on overall sustained quality of the publication, and will emphasize service to the membership. Judges will also consider content, creativity, and design.

Section/Division Recognition Awards
These awards recognize the hard work and the many achievements that our FBA sections and divisions have accomplished throughout the year. Categories of recognition will include section and division administration and leadership efforts, substantive programming and content, and membership outreach and communication. The awards not only highlight the areas in which outstanding FBA sections and divisions benefit its members, but also how it increases the value of FBA membership as a whole.

Chapter Community Outreach Award
The FBA each year seeks to recognize chapters making a positive impact in their community. The Chapter Community Outreach Award will recognize achievements of FBA chapters for the past award year (June 1 through May 31). Among the considerations for this Award are: the extent to which the chapter’s community outreach programs strengthen the federal legal system; the impact in the community; whether FBA members conducted the community outreach programs; how the chapter’s community outreach programs increased the profile of or affected the chapter or the federal courts; and the extent to which the chapter’s community outreach programs demonstrated a commitment to volunteerism and community service.


2017 Award Winners


Connect With Us...