Recap of the 2018 Thurgood Marshall Memorial Moot Court Competition



or almost 20 years, the Thurgood Marshall Memorial Moot Court Competition has been an annual event sponsored by the Younger Lawyers Division of the Federal Bar Association. There are several aspects of the Thurgood Marshall competition that make it one of the premier moot court competitions in the country. First, every round of the competition is held at a courthouse, as opposed to a law school or office setting. The opportunity for law students to present oral arguments in actual courtrooms is an invaluable experience. Second, all of the individuals who serve as judges in the competition are either actual judges, practitioners, or scholars. This too reinforces the "real world" experience for competitors. Third, competitors have an opportunity at the awards reception that immediately follows the competition to network with federal court practitioners who travel from around the country to attend the Federal Bar Association's mid-year meeting. Finally, as an added bonus, each participant in the competition receives a free one-year membership in the Federal Bar Association. The competition, designed for two-person teams, focuses on written briefs as well as oral arguments.



From L to R: Current FBA National President Kip Bollin, Professor Jonathan Entin, Chief Judge Stucky, Jessica Toplin, Lt. Colonel Wolfe at the 2018 Moot Court Competition.



Marshal Watson and Amy Boyle speaking at the YLD Sponsored Event.



Sophia George and Gary Hiller with their awards after the Thurgood Marshall Moot Court final round.



From L to R: Sophia George, Gary Hillier, Katelynn Armijo, and Eden Ramirez at the final round of the competition.