

## Westin Peachtree Plaza • www.fedbar.org/FBACON17 FEDERAL BAR ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEETING AND CONVENTION

The 2017 FBA Annual Meeting and Convetion took place Sept. 14-16 in Atlanta. Attendees participated in CLE sessions, met during networking receptions all over downtown Atlanta, and had the opportunity to hear insightful keynote speakers during the various luncheons from the Younger Lawyers Division, the Fellows of the Foundation of the FBA, and the Caron Treatment Centers. In addition, Kip T. Bollin was sworn in as the 2018 National President of the Federal Bar Association. For recap of events, check out the #FBAcon17 hashtag on Twitter.



1. Morning keynote address with former Georgia Sen. Saxby Chambliss (l to r) Hon. Michael J. Newman, FBA immediate past president, U.S. magistrate judge, Northern District of Ohio; Byung J. "BJay" Pak; Kevin Maxim, convention committee chair; Tom Lacy; Hon. Tilman E. "Tripp" Self III, judge, Court of Appeals of Georgia; Sen. Saxby Chambliss; Stacy King, FBA executive director; West Allen, chair, FBA Government Relations Committee; and Bruce Moyer, FBA government relations counsel.

**2.** Hon. Sarah T. Hughes Civil Rights Award recipient Lawrence R. Baca and Earl W. Kintner Award for Distinguished Service recipient Kent S. Hofmeister following the Presidential Installation Banquet.

**3.** FBA Board of Directors Members: (front row, l to r) Executive Director Stacy King, Past President Hon. Michael J. Newman, President Kip T. Bollin, President-Elect Maria Z. Vathis, Treasurer Christian K. Adams; (middle row, l to r) Andrew K. Clark, Jeanette Bazis, Glen R. McMurry, Christine C. Varnado, Vildan A. Teske, Anh Le Kremer, Hon. Robin E. Feder; (back row, l to r) Jonathan Hafen, Joseph S. Leventhal, Robert Clark, Dawn Stern, W. West Allen, Hon. Alison S. Bachus, David A. Goodwin, Karleen Green, Jessica Toplin, Matthew C. Moschella.

4. At the Presidential Installation Banquet, Aaron Bulloff presents the Hon. Sarah T. Hughes Civil Rights Award to Law-rence R. Baca.

5. At the Presidential Installation Banquet. L to R: Aaron Bulloff, Jim Satola, Tim Collins, Mrs. Collins, Anthony Vegh, Kip T. Bollin, Eric S. Daniel, Phil Calabrese, Alexandra Dattilo.



6. President Hon. Michael J. Newman presents an award to Incoming President Kip T. Bollin.

7. Keynote Speaker Nina Totenberg of NPR, interviewed by Denis O'Hayer of WABE Atlanta, presents at Friday's Fellows of the Foundation of the FBA Luncheon.

8. Thompson Hine Firm members at the Atlanta History Center for Thursday night's Welcome Reception L to R: Cathy

Bollin, Kip T. Bollin, Seth A. Litman, and Tim McDonald.

9. Kip T. Bollin is sworn in as President by Hon. Michael J. Newman at Saturday night's Presidential InstallationBanquet. L to R: Kip T. Bollin, Hon. Michael J. Newman

**10.** Award Winners and program presenters at Thursday's Younger Lawyers Division Awards Luncheon: (front row, l to r) Matthew B. Moreland, Robyn J. Spalter Outstanding Achievement Award Recipient; Chase Scolnick, Younger Federal Lawyer Award Recipient; Joseph Adams, Younger Federal Lawyer Award Recipient; (middle row, l to r) Glen R. McMurry, Christian K. Adams, Anna Howard, Jessica Toplin, Jenifer Tomchak; (back row, l to r) Ben Cheesbro, David Goodwin.

11. Conference attendees enjoy a reception at the National Center for Civil and Human Rights.