| Sections and **Divisions** |

Indian Law Section

On Nov. 5, the Indian Law Section, in conjunction with the National Native American Bar Association (NNABA) and the Native American Bar Association of Washington, D.C., sponsored the 12th Annual Washington, D.C. Indian Law Conference. The meeting was again held at the National Museum of the American Indian, a site that is extremely relevant to the issues covered during the conference. The day-long conference included a federal court update and panels entitled "Looking to 1934: Perspectives on the Fee-to-Trust Process," "The Tribal Law and Order Act," "International Legal Issues Facing Tribes," and an ethics panel, "Conflicting Duties of Loyalty When Representing the United States." Patricia Millett, partner and co-chair of the Supreme Court Practice Group at Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP was the keynote speaker at the luncheon.

Government Contracts Section

On Oct. 14, the Government Contracts Section sponsored a luncheon panel titled "What to Do When the FBI Visits: Standards of Conduct and Government Investigations" held at Troutman Sanders LLP. The panel provided insight into standards of conduct for government contractors and proper re-

sponses to government investigations. Panelists also discussed the process from the perspective of the contractor and the federal government conducting the investigation. Topics included the Contractor Code of Business Ethics and Conduct and legal and practical issues arising from search warrants and subpoenas issued during a federal investigation. Shomari Wade of Troutman Sanders LLP led the panel, which consisted of Mike Gardner and John West, partners at Troutman Sanders LLP, and David Johnson, assistant U.S. attorney, Fraud and Public Corruption Section, U.S. Department of Justice.

Section on Taxation

The section's fall Women in Tax Law event was held at Morrison & Foerster on Oct. 14. Featured speakers, Christy R. Mistr of Dominion Financial Consultants and Marjorie A. Burnett of MAB Financial Planning, gave presentations on cash flow and debt management, insurance options, retirement planning, investments, estate planning, tax planning, and life planning. A networking reception followed their presentations.

Transportation and Transportation Security Law Section

In October, the Transportation and Transportation Security Law Section held its premier event, the Counsels' Reception for the Transportation and Transportation Security Lawyers of the Year, on Capitol Hill. The section honored Jason E. Schlosberg of the Transportation Department's Federal Railroad Administration as the Transportation Lawyer of the Year, in recognition of his significant contribution to safety rule-making at the Federal Railroad Administration and his founding of a publication devoted to transportation issues, TQ: Transportation Quarterly. For the first time, the section bestowed a Lifetime Achievement Award on Bernard F. Diederich upon his upcoming retirement from the Department of Transportation after 42 years of federal service and 39 years as an active and influential FBA member and past officer. Denise Krepp, immediate past section chair and chief counsel of the department's Maritime Administration, was also honored for her dedication and commitment to the section while serving as the 2009 chair. TFL

Sections and Divisions is compiled by Adrienne Woolley, FBA manager of sections and divisions. Send your section or division information to awoolley@ fedbar.org or Sections and Divisions, Federal Bar Association, 1220 North Fillmore Street, Suite 444, Arlington, VA 22201.



Transportation and Transportation Security Law Section: At the Counsels' Reception (I to r)—Karen Hedlund, chief counsel, Federal Railroad Administration; James Fisher, Amy Cassidy, and Bern Diederich, members of the section's Board of Directors; Jason E. Schlosberg, 2010 Transportation Lawyer of the Year; and Hector Huezo and Tom Lehrich, members of the section's Board of Directors.



Indian Law Section: At the 12th Annual Washington, D.C. Indian Law Conference (I to r)—co-chairs of the conference, Katie Morgan, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP, and Bryan Newland, policy adviser to the deputy assistant secretary for Indian affairs, Department of Interior.