## Sections and Divisions

## Section on Taxation

On Oct. 8, the Section on Taxation hosted a luncheon featuring newly appointed U.S. Tax Court Judges David Gustafson, Richard Morrison, and Elizabeth Crewson Paris, who spoke about their professional backgrounds, influences, and circumstances that led to their current positions. Mike Quigley of White & Case served as moderator and asked the judges questions about the changes they have noticed since assuming the bench and what day-to-day life is like as a U.S. Tax Court judge. The section is grateful to White & Case for hosting the event.

## Transportation & Transportation Security Law Section

The Transportation & Transportation Security Law Section held its annual General and Chief Counsels' Reception on Sept. 30. This year, the event honored two winners of Transportation Lawyer of the Year award and one winner of the Transportation Security Lawyer of the Year award. Newly appointed chief counsel of the Maritime Administration and chair of the section, Denise Krepp, was the emcee for the evening. The Transportation Lawyer of the Year awards were presented to C. Jonathan Benner, partner and leader of the Transportation Practice Group at Troutman



**Section on Taxation:** At the October luncheon featuring newly appointed U.S. Tax Court judges—(I to r) Hon. Elizabeth Crewson Paris, Hon. David Gustafson, and Hon. Richard Morrison.

Sanders LLP, and Jeffrey A. Klang, regional counsel for Great Lakes Region of the Office of Chief Counsel of the Federal Aviation Administration. The Transportation Security Lawyer of the Year award was given to Charles V. Darr, an attorney at the Office of Maritime and International Law, U.S. Coast Guard, Department of Homeland Security. Family, friends, colleagues, and transportation general and chief counsels all joined in congratulating the award recipients. In addition, Daeleen Chesley, former chair of the section, was presented with an award for her dedicated service to the Federal Bar Association as the section chair in 2007–2008. **TFL** 

Sections and Divisions is compiled by Adrienne Woolley, FBA manager of sections and divisions. Send your section or division information and photos to awoolley@fedbar.org or Sections and Divisions, Federal Bar Association, 1220 North Fillmore Street, Suite 444, Arlington, VA 22201.



**Transportation & Transportation Security Law Section:** At the General and Chief Counsels Reception—(left photo, l to r) award recipients C. Jonathan Benner, Troutman Sanders LLP; Charles V. Darr, U.S. Coast Guard; and Jeffrey A. Klang, Federal Aviation Administration; (right photo, l to r): Daeleen M. Chesley, former section chair, and Denise R. Krepp, current section chair.