Chapter Exchange

FIRST CIRCUIT

Puerto Rico Chapter

On Dec. 3, 2007, the Senate of Puerto Rico issued Senate Resolution No. 3628 recognizing and congratulating the Fellows of the Foundation of the Federal Bar Association from the Puerto Rico

The following Fellows were named in the resolution: Rafael Aguilo, Ricardo Casellas, Alfredo Castellanos, Russell Del Toro, Hon. Daniel R. Dominguez, Veronica Ferraiouli, Jose A. Fuentes-Agostini, Arturo J. Garcia, Gustavo A. Gelpi Sr., Hon. Gustavo A. Gelpi, David C. Indiano, Hon. Hector M. Laffitte, Joseph C. Laws, Nestor Mendez, Dora Monserrate, Luis Nido, James D. Noel, Eric Perez-Ochoa, Manuel Quillichini, Roberto Santana, Hon. Juan R. Torruella, and Hon. Camille Velez-Rive.

FIFTH CIRCUIT

Dallas and Fort Worth Chapters

On Dec. 6, 2007, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas conducted the investiture of Hon. Sidney A. Fitzwater as Chief U.S. Judge. Judge Fitzwater became the district's 12th chief judge, replacing Hon. A. Joe Fish, who has taken senior status. The presidents of the Dallas and Fort Worth Chapters of the FBA, Thad Behrens and Joseph Cleveland, offered remarks on behalf of the FBA during the ceremo-



San Antonio Chapter: At the chapter's November luncheon—(I to r) Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Edward Prado, Chapter President Todd Hedgepeth, and world renowned criminal defense and civil rights attorney Gerry Goldstein. Goldstein educated and entertained the crowd with the topic "What's Left of Your Rights and Liberty? (Latest Hits from the Supremes)."

ny. The FBA also sponsored a reception honoring former Chief Judge Fish immediately following the investiture ceremony.

NINTH CIRCUIT

Inland Empire Chapter

On Nov. 9, 2007, the Inland Empire Chapter honored the judges of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California and installed its new chapter officers. Judge Virginia Phillips installed the 2008 chapter officers: John Holcomb, president; Jacqueline Carey-Wilson, president-elect; Daniel Roberts, treasurer; and Dennis Wagner, secretary. Following the installation of officers, FBA President-Elect Juanita Sales Lee spoke about the need for a strong FBA to support the federal bench. The event was sponsored by Reid & Helly-

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

EXCHANGE continued on page 14





Dallas and Fort Worth Chapters: At the investiture ceremony of Chief Judge Sidney A. Fitzwater and reception honoring outgoing Chief Judge A. Joe Fish—(left photo, I to r) Dallas Chapter President Thad Behrens, Chief Judge Fitzwater, former Chief Judge Fish, and Fort Worth Chapter President Joseph Cleveland; (right photo, I to r) Chief Judge Fish receives a gift from Dallas Chapter President Thad Behrens.

EXCHANGE continued from page 12

Atlanta Chapter

On Dec. 19, 2007, the Atlanta Chapter hosted a luncheon featuring Hon. Griffin B. Bell. Judge Bell regaled attendees with tales from his storied career, which included managing John F. Kennedy's campaign in Georgia, serving as a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, and serving as U.S. attorney general during the Carter administration.

Chapter Exchange is compiled by the manager of chapters and circuits. Send your chapter information to tfl@fedbar.org or Chapter Exchange, FBA, 2011 Crystal Drive, Ste. 400, Arlington, VA 22202.



Atlanta Chapter: At its December luncheon—(I to r) Phyllis B. Sumner, luncheon chair; Hon. Griffin B. Bell, former U.S. attorney general and Fifth Circuit judge; and Kevin P. Weimer, Atlanta Chapter president.









Inland Empire Chapter: At the judicial reception and installation of chapter officers—(top left photo, I to r) Dean Starr, Chief Judge Alicemarie Stotler, Alice Starr, Jacqueline Carey-Wilson, Linda Klausner, and District Judge R. Gary Klausner; (top right photo, I to r) Judge Virginia Phillips installs Jacqueline Carey-Wilson, Dennis Wagner, Daniel Roberts, and John Holcomb; (bottom left photo, I to r) Incoming Inland Empire Chapter President John Holcomb gies an award to outgoing chapter president, Magistrate Judge Oswald Parada; (bottom right photo, I to r) FBA President-Elect Juanita Sales Lee with Dean Starr.