International Law Section

International Law Section

Message from the Chair

Section Chair:

Brian C. Murphy
Chevy Chase, MD

Join the Section

Your International Law Section has been productively engaged in developing and implementing programs of interest to our members, including multiple educational programs on recent developments in Immigration Law, a program with former U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine, The Honorable  Steven Pifer, on the Russia-Ukraine Conflict, a discussion with Former U.S. Ambassador and Administrator of the Coalition Provisional Authority in Iraq, The Honorable L. Paul Bremer III, numerous writings in The Federal Lawyer and the Section Newsletter, “Global Perspectives,” and more.

International Law Section Vice Chairperson, Immigration Judge Mimi Tsankov, in her personal capacity, at the request of National FBA President, Magistrate Judge Mike Newman, worked with a selected group of senior FBA leaders on a now-pending application for the National Federal Bar Association to assume Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council.  This would benefit the entire Federal Bar Association!

The International Law Section will co-sponsor with the FBA Health Law Section a CLE program on legal and regulatory issues coming before the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention at the FBA Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia on Friday, September 15, 2017, at 10:30 AM, EDT, as well as a social networking reception the same day.

The International Law Section has developed mutually beneficial relationships with a number of law schools, including Fordham, the University of Virginia, the Washington College of Law of American University, Georgetown, and others.  We hope to do much more!  You can help us to do so by putting us in touch with your alma mater!

The Section has also joined in co-sponsorship of a number of other educational programs during 2017 and hopes to continue to do so, the better to serve our members.

The International Law Section annual election of officers will take place in July 2017, and all section members are strongly encouraged to vote.  All of us benefit with broad participation.
The nominees and their respective offices are:  
Section Chairperson:  Mimi Tsankov
Section Vice Chairperson:  Roger S. Kobert
Section Treasurer:  Stephanie Moncado Gomez
Section Secretary:  Beth Persky
We are always pleased to hear from our members!


International Law Section Mission

International Law Section by-laws

Join the Section


Connect With Us...