Civics Essay Contest Archive

Civics Essay Contest

This year, hundreds of Middle School and High School students from around the country competed in the Federal Bar Association's first ever Civics Essay Contest. The topic of this year's contest was "What does an Impartial Judiciary Mean to Me?" Read the top essays from this year below!

High School and Middle School winners Isabelle Scott and Alexander Ashman visiting the Supreme Court on March 17, 2017.

Middle School Contest Winners:

1st Place: Alexander Ashman, for his essay "True Justice"

2nd Place: Jivan Jot Kaur Khalsa

3rd Place: Jonah Gilbert

High School Contest Winners:

1st Place: Isabelle Scott, for her essay "Fear Free"

2nd Place: Stephanie Besen

3rd Place: Jacob Couture

Excellence in Civics Education Award

2017 was also the first year that the FBA recognized teachers around the country for their dedication to civics education. 22 teachers who were nominated by students and collegues were awarded the Excellence in Civics Education Award. See below for a list of this year's awardees by circuit.

2nd Circuit
David A. Scott, Northport-East Northport School District 
Douglas Elliot, Gelinas Junior High School

3rd Circuit
Lisa Carney, St. Bernadette of Lourdes School 

4th Circuit
Susan Boroughs, Granby High School 
Nicholas McDaniels, Mergenthaler Vocational Technical High School
Bob Knight, Bull Run Middle School

5th Circuit 
Christine McCrory, Lafayette High School
Dawn Blake, Allen High School

6th Circuit
Joe Foster, Hardin Northern High School
Erica Griggs, L&N STEM Academy 
Jennifer Forshey, Rocky River High School
David Volkman, Loveland High School
Jonathan L. Entin, Case Western Reserve University School of Law
Fred Cole, Marquette Senior High School
Eric Hanna, Olentangy Shanahan Middle School
Tyler Johnson, Ohio Connections Academy

7th Circuit
Shannon Arko, Jefferson Middle School
Rebecca Daen, Legal Prep Charter Academy  

8th Circuit
Derek Bridges, Clark Elementary School 

9th Circuit
Dr. Homee F. Shroff, BASIS Tucson Northern High School
Jon Labrousse, Ridgeline Montessorie 

11th Circuit 
Karen Wozniak, West Laurens High School


Nomination Form for Excellence in Civics Education


Connect With Us...