Vice Presidents for the Circuits

Vice Presidents of the Circuits

An integral part of the national operation of the Federal Bar Association is its circuit structure and the corresponding two Vice Presidents for each Circuit.  The circuits are the same as the 12 Federal Judicial Circuits and encompass the states, territories, and possessions of the United States.

First Circuit

Matthew C. Moschella

Matthew C. Moschella is a partner at Sherin and Lodgen LLP in Boston, Mass. where he represents clients in all types of civil litigation.

Oreste R. Ramos

Oreste R. Ramos is a capital member with the litigation practice group of Pietrantoni Méndez & Alvarez LLC in San Juan, PR. He is a past president of the PR Chapter of the Federal Bar Association and a life fellow of the Foundation of the FBA.

Second Circuit

Olivera Medenica

Olivera is a Principal at Medenica Law PLLC. Her practice focuses on both transactional and litigation issues faced by businesses in a variety of industries. Olivera served as President to the Southern District of New York Chapter of the FBA (2014-2015).

Ernest T. Bartol

Ernest T. Bartol received a Juris Doctorate Degree from Villanova University School of Law in 1970. Admitted to the New York Bar in 1971, Mr. Bartol served the President of the Federal Bar Association Eastern District of New York Chapter from 2011-2013

Third Circuit

Frank J. McGovern

Frank J. McGovern joined Title Resources Guaranty Company in January 2012 as Northeast Underwriting Counsel. He started his title career in 1997, as an attorney and title agent with a real estate firm and title insurance agency.

Hon. Karoline Mehalchick

The Honorable Karoline Mehalchick is a United States Magistrate Judge in Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, where she was appointed to the bench of the United States District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania on July 15, 2013.

Fourth Circuit

Kacy Hunt

Kacy is an attorney in the Transportation Section of the North Carolina Department of Justice, where she handles contract claims and litigation for construction projects as well as advises the North Carolina State Ports Authority on a range of issues.

Hannah Rogers Metcalfe

Hannah Metcalfe was appointed to serve as the Vice President for the Fourth Circuit in 2015.

Fifth Circuit

Barry Ashe

Barry Ashe is a member of the New Orleans law firm of Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann L.L.C. His practice is concentrated in appeals, products liability, pharmaceutical litigation, class action/complex litigation, and commercial litigation.

Marc W. Taubenfeld

Marc practices in both the controversies section and the bankruptcy section of McGuire, Craddock & Strother PC in Dallas, and is a shareholder and director of the firm.

Sixth Circuit

Glen McMurry

Glen McMurry is a Partner at the law firm of Dungan & LeFevre Co., LPA in Troy, Ohio practicing in the areas of business and commercial litigation. He was appointed by FBA National President Kip Bolin to serve as a Sixth Circuit Vice-President in 2018. Glen has been an active participant in the FBA for nearly a decade, joining the FBA in 2010 when he worked to restart the Dayton, Ohio Chapter. Glen served as the Dayton, Ohio Chapter President for three years (2010-2012).

Katharine M. Gardner

Katharine is a career law clerk in the federal judiciary. Following graduation summa cum laude from the McKinney School of Law, Indiana University, she began her service in 1991 as a law clerk for the Honorable H. Ted Milburn, Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals. She is currently in her twenty-second year as a federal law clerk and is clerking for her fourth federal judge, the Honorable Christopher H. Steger, United States Magistrate Judge, in the United States District Court, Eastern District of Tennessee. She is a past-president of the Chattanooga Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

Seventh Circuit

Kevin G. Desharnais

Kevin Desharnais is a litigator and corporate counselor whose practice is focused on environmental law, including air, land, water, wetlands and noise matters.

Sheri H. Mecklenburg

Sheri Mecklenburg was appointed to serve as a Vice President for the Seventh Circuit in 2012. She has served on the Board of Directors of the Chicago Chapter for four years. She is currently serving as the Chapter Treasurer.

Eighth Circuit

Adine S. Momoh

Adine S. Momoh currently serves as an Eighth Circuit Vice President and Vice Chair for the Federal Bar Association’s Younger Lawyers Division.

Daniel C. Hedlund

Daniel C. Hedlund has been a Federal Bar Association member since 1998.

Ninth Circuit

Laura Conover

She brings her heart, soul, and reputation into the courtroom for each and every client. Her reputation and dedication recently prompted the federal legal community to elect her the president of the Federal Bar Association, an organization she still enjoys working for in both the local chapter and now as an officer at the national level with the FBA's Government Relations Committee.

Darrel Gardner

Darrel Gardner is a life long Alaskan and a Federal Public Defender in Anchorage. He is a former president of the Alaska Chapter of the FBA, and he is the 64th president of the Alaska Bar Association.

Tenth Circuit

Daniel W. Lewis

Dan Lewis was the founding Chapter President of the New Mexico Chapter of the Federal Bar Association in 2013.

Christopher M. Stephens

Chris M. Stephens is an Assistant U.S. Attorney in Oklahoma City, where he prosecutes financial fraud and white-collar crimes.

Eleventh Circuit

Brett A. Barfield

Brett A. Barfield is a business litigation partner at Holland & Knight LLP where he has practiced since 2000.

Mike Vitale

Mike Vitale is partner at the law firm of Baker & Hostetler LLP, where he has practiced law since 2007.

District of Columbia Circuit

Steven R. Miller

Steven Miller is an environmental attorney with over 39 years of experience at the U.S. Department of Energy.

Elizabeth Pugh

Elizabeth Pugh has enjoyed a 36-year distinguished career in government service. For the past 16 years, she has served as General Counsel of the Library of Congress.