FY2020 Nominated Slate

Pursuant to the FBA Constitution and Bylaws, and in accordance with the notice disseminated earlier this year, the Nominations and Elections Committee has met and considered applications for nomination to FBA national office.  The Committee has nominated the following members for the offices indicated.

Candidates  Position
W. West Allen President-Elect
Anh Le Kremer Treasurer
Jeanette M. Bazis    Director (Group 1-Vice Presidents for the Circuits)
Hon. Mimi E. Tsankov (personal capacity)   Director (Group 2 - Chairs for the Sections and Divisions)
Christine Companion Varnado Director (Group 3-Chapter Presidents)
John (Joey) Bowers Director (Group 4-Younger Lawyers)
Ashley L. Belleau ABA Delegate
Oreste R. Ramos Vice President for the First Circuit
Olivera Medenica Vice President for the Second Circuit
Christian T. Haugsby Vice President for the Third Circuit
Kacy L. Hunt Vice President for the Fourth Circuit
Paul D. Barkhurst Vice President for the Fifth Circuit
Donna J. Mikel Vice President for the Sixth Circuit
Kevin G. Desharnais Vice President for the Seventh Circuit
David A. Goodwin Vice President for the Eighth Circuit
Darrel J. Gardner Vice President for the Ninth Circuit
Hon. Suzanne Mitchell Vice President for the Tenth Circuit
Oliver Alan Ruiz Vice President for the Eleventh Circuit
Patricia D. Ryan Vice President for the D.C. Circuit

The names of these candidates will be listed on the Notice of Election that will be distributed to each member in good standing as of June 15, 2019.

Members who have not been nominated for office by the Committee, but who wish to be placed on the ballot for national office, may do so by delivering to Maria Z. Vathis, Chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee, at elections@fedbar.org, a petition, including an Application, specifying the office being sought and bearing the required number of signatures, i.e., fifty (50) signatures for national offices; twenty (20) signatures for vice presidents for the circuits by members within the respective circuit. No member shall be eligible as an endorser of a petition whose dues are not paid for the current fiscal year or who is not otherwise in good standing. Each petition may propose nominees for one or more offices; however, in no event shall any member be eligible as an endorser of more than one candidate for the same office.  Petitions must be received by 11:59 p.m. EDT on Thursday, April 25, 2019.

Notice of Election, Ballots and Voting
In accordance with Bylaw 6(D), by June 15, 2019, the Committee shall cause a Notice of Election to be sent to each member of the Association in good standing.  The notice shall list the names of all nominated candidates and candidates by petition in alphabetical order under each elective office.  The notice also shall contain such instructions as necessary for members to cast their votes as prescribed by policy adopted by the Board of Directors.  A suspended member who is restored to good standing after the transmittal of the notice and who, prior to the election's close, delivers to the Committee evidence of good standing, shall thereupon be entitled to vote.  In an uncontested election, the Association shall only send the Notice of Election electronically to members.

The ballot shall contain the names of all nominated candidates and candidates by petition for each elective office as well as space for a write-in candidate for each elective office.  Completed ballots shall be received by the Chair of the Committee or by such person as designed by the Chair no later than July 1.  The Committee shall review and certify the tabulated votes and report as elected the candidate for each office who has received a plurality of the votes cast for that office by July 2.

Maria Z. Vathis
2019 Nominations and Elections Committee Chair


Connect With Us...