Elected Members


Hon. Alison S. Bachus, Director

The Honorable Alison S. Bachus is entering her third year as a board member for the FBA. Last year, she served on the Budget and Finance Committee, the Community Service and Outreach Committee, and the Special Committee on Women in the Law.

Jeanette M. Bazis, Director

Jeanette M. Bazis is a partner at Greene Espel PLLP in Minneapolis, Minnesota. She is a highly regarded litigator whose practice focuses largely on complex business, intellectual property, and employment litigation.

John "Joey" Bowers, Director

John (“Joey”) Bowers, who serves the FBA in his personal capacity, is counsel for the Civil Division of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) in Washington, D.C.

Andrew K. Clark, Director

Andrew K. (“Andy”) Clark has been an active member of the FBA since 2001. A partner in the Richmond, Virginia office of Hirschler, his practice focuses on high-stakes business litigation involving commercial and contract disputes; construction and mechanic’s lien disputes; personal injury and wrongful death prosecution and defense; estate and trust disputes; and other general civil matters.

Joseph S. Leventhal, Director

Joseph S. Leventhal’s experience and involvement with the FBA is significant, broad, and unique. At the national level of the FBA, he served on the Community Service Committee, the Government Relations Committee, and the SOLACE Committee; was a member of the Nominations and Elections Committee; was on the board of the YLD; and previously served as the chair of the Chapter Activity Fund Committee.

Kevin A. Maxim, Director

Kevin A. Maxim is the principal of The Maxim Law Firm P.C. in Atlanta. He litigated in national law firms for 14 years before forming The Maxim Law Firm more than 10 years ago. The firm’s litigation practice focuses on issues arising from contracts, real estate, the internet, fraud, insurance, and a gamut of business disputes, including those arising from restrictive covenants and trade secrets.

Hon. Karoline Mehalchick, Director

The Honorable Karoline Mehalchick is a United States Magistrate Judge in Scranton, Pennsylvania, where she was appointed to the bench of the United States District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania on July 15, 2013

Kelly Titus Scalise, Director

Kelly Titus Scalise has been a member of the Federal Bar Association for over 18 years and has served in a leadership role for all of those years. After joining the FBA in November 2001, Scalise became a board member of the Younger Lawyers Division (YLD) of the New Orleans Chapter.

John R. Thomas, Director

John has significant experience representing individuals and businesses in a variety of civil and criminal litigation, as well as providing strategic advice in science policy and research administration matters. John is a partner with Healy Hafemann Magee in Roanoke, Virginia.

Jessica R. Toplin, Director

Jessica R. Toplin is a trial attorney in the Commercial Litigation Branch of the Civil Division of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ). Jessica joined the DOJ in 2008 through the attorney general’s honors program. She specializes in government contracts and federal employment litigation and represents various federal agencies before the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the U.S. Court of Federal Claims.

Hon. Mimi E. Tsankov (personal capacity)

The Honorable Mimi E. Tsankov (personal capacity) has served as an immigration judge with the U.S. Department of Justice, Executive Office for Immigration Review, since 2006, where she has presided over detained and nondetained dockets at the Los Angeles Immigration Court, the Denver Immigration Court, and the New York Immigration Court.

Christie C. Varnado, Director

Christine “Christie” Companion Varnado joined The Seibels Law Firm, P.A. in Charleston, South Carolina as a partner in 2009. Since 1993, her civil litigation practice has...


Connect With Us...