Ex Officio Members

The chair of the Vice Presidents for the Circuits, chair of the Section and Division Council, and chair of the Younger Lawyers Division serve as ex officio members of the Board without a vote if they have not been elected to the Board of Directors.


Brett Barfield, Vice President for the Circuits Chair

Brett is the Vice President for the Circuits Chair and a member of the FBA since 2004 and sits on the national Membership Committee.

Matthew Moschella, Sections and Divisions Council Chair

Matt has been active in the FBA since 2004. He has been a board member of the Younger Lawyers Division for several years and has recently served as Chair. He is also the co-chair of the FBA’s Supreme Court Admissions Program, which is coordinated by the YLD.

Jessica Toplin, Younger Lawyers Division Chair

Jessica is a Trial Attorney specializing in Government Contracts and Federal Employment Litigation at the Commercial Litigation Branch of the United States Department of Justice located in Washington, DC where she is also a Board Member of the District of Columbia FBA Chapter.

Kevin A. Maxim, General Counsel for the FBA

Before establishing The Maxim Law Firm on January 1, 2009, Kevin practiced in complex litigation for more than fourteen years, most of them in what became an international law firm of 500-plus lawyers.


Connect With Us...