Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The FBA Board of Directors are the governing body of the association.

The Board of Directors consists of the president, president-elect, treasurer, and 12 elected directors who represent segments of the membership.  There are three ex officio members and the executive director who attend Board meetings but are non-voting members of the Board.


Matthew B. Moreland, President

Matthew B. Moreland began his involvement with the FBA through the National YLD’s Moot Court Program under a new appointment to the National FBA YLD Board of Directors.

Mark K. Vincent, President-Elect

Mark K. Vincent is a 17-year active member of the Federal Bar Association and a Fellow of the FBA Foundation. Mark is also a 24-year veteran of the U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Utah.

Hon. Michael J. Newman, Treasurer

Hon. Michael J. Newman was appointed as a magistrate judge in the Southern District of Ohio in July 2011.

Elected Members

Simeon H. Baum

Simeon Baum, president of Resolve Mediation Services, Inc., has successfully mediated over 900 disputes. An attorney, with over 25 years’ experience as a litigator, Simeon has served as a mediator or ADR neutral in a wide variety of matters.

Kip T. Bollin

Kip T. Bollin is a litigation partner at Thompson Hine LLP in Cleveland, Ohio, focusing on the defense of product liability and business claims, including putative class actions.

Richard S. Dellinger

Richard Dellinger is partner in Lowndes, Drosdick, Doster, Kantor and Reed, P.A. and his practice includes civil litigation, federal civil and criminal litigation, personal injury, wrongful death, and family law.

Raymond J. Dowd

Ray Dowd is a partner in Dunnington, Bartholow & Miller LLP in New York City. He has conducted numerous bench and jury trials and arbitrations.

Katherine Gonzalez-Valentín

Katherine González-Valentín is a Senior Member at Ferraiuoli, LLC and Chair of the Labor & Employment Department.

Kristin Kimmelman

Kristin Kimmelman is a research and writing specialist with the Federal Public Defender’s Office for the Western District of Texas in El Paso, Texas.

Anh Le Kremer

Anh Le Kremer is the Deputy General Counsel of Center For Diagnostic Imagining, one of the largest provider networks for diagnostic imaging and radiology services in the nation.

Kevin A. Maxim

Kevin A. Maxim established Atlanta’s The Maxim Law Firm, P.C. in January 2009. He has represented clients from throughout the country in civil litigation matters pending in Georgia and the Southeast.

Matthew C. Moschella

Matthew C. Moschella is a partner at Sherin and Lodgen LLP in Boston, Mass. where he represents clients in all types of civil litigation.

Patrick E. O’Keefe

O'Keefe is a 1975 graduate of Loyola University School of Law in New Orleans. He was captain of the National Championship Moot Court Team in 1974 and he was selected Best Oralist in the national competition....

Dawn E. Stern

Dawn E. Stern is an Associate at DLA Piper, LLC in Washington, D.C. where she practices Government Contracts law.

Maria Z. Vathis

Maria Z. Vathis has been a member of the Federal Bar Association since the beginning of her legal career. She served as Chicago Chapter President in 2011.

Ex Officio Members

Christian K. Adams, YLD Chair

Christian Adams is a partner in the Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution Practice Group at Carlsmith Ball LLP in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Warren Burke, General Counsel

Warren Burke is a legislative attorney specializing in federal legislation concerning public health, food, drugs, medical devices, controlled substances, clean air, and safe drinking water.

Christie C. Varnado, Vice Presidents of the Circuits

Christine “Christie” Companion Varnado joined The Seibels Law Firm, P.A. in Charleston, South Carolina as a partner in 2009. Since 1993, her civil litigation practice has...

Hon. Elizabeth A. Kronk Warner, Sections and Divisions Chair

Hon. Elizabeth A. Kronk Warner is an Associate Professor of Law at The University of Kansas School of Law where she serves as the director of the Tribal law and Government Center and as an Affiliated Professor of Indigenous Studies.