“The Fundamentals of Practice before the Department of Veterans Affairs” CLE Seminar

On January 31, 2017, the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky-John W. Peck Chapter, in collaboration with the FBA’s Senior Lawyer Division, Cincinnati Bar Association, and Cincinnati Legal Aid, provided a continuing legal education program on the fundamentals of practice before the Department of Veterans Affairs. The seminar included a presentation by David Myers, a former Navy JAG and Director of Case Evaluation and Placement with the Veterans Consortium in Washington DC. National FBA President U.S. Magistrate Judge Michael Newman also spoke and attended the seminar. The training from the seminar will help equip the over 50 attorneys in attendance to assist veterans in their time of need.

(l to r) U.S. Magistrate Judge Newman, Scott McIntyre, David Myers, and Scott Kane at the CLE seminar
Annual Fall Luncheon

Following the Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky Chapter's annual meeting and luncheon at Nicholson's restaurant in downtown Cincinnati, a number of former chapter presidents reunited for a group photo.

(l to r): Kelly Johnson, Partner, Porter Wright Morris & Arthur (Chapter President, 2006 - 2007); Mike Rhinehart, Career Law Clerk to Judge Newman; Judge Michael Newman, FBA President (Chapter President 2004-2005); Judge Jack Sherman, Jr., United States Magistrate Judge (retired) (Chapter President 2000-2001); Joan Brady, Career Law Clerk to Judge Bowman (Chapter President 2015-2016); Scott Kane, Managing Partner, Squire Patton Boggs - Cincinnati office (Chapter President 2010- 2011); Kenneth Parker, Assistant United States Attorney for the Southern District of Ohio (Chapter President 2008 - 2009)

Following his presentation of remarks at the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky annual meeting and luncheon, FBA President, Judge Mike Newman, meets -- at the Potter Stewart U.S. Courthouse in downtown Cincinnati -- with outgoing chapter president, Joan Brady, and incoming chapter president, Scott McIntyre.
Judges' Night Dinner featuring Gen. William K. Suter, former Clerk of US Supreme Court

The John W. Peck Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Chapter hosted its annual Judges’ Night Dinner on June 8, 2016. The Judges’ Night Dinner provides an informal setting for members of the bar and judiciary to mingle and exchange pleasantries. The dinner was well attended, with 130 guests that included federal Judges Danny Boggs, Deborah Cook, and Jane Stranch of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals; Southern District of Ohio District Court Judges Edmund Sargus (Chief Judge), Michael Barrett, Michael Watson, and Sandra Beckwith (Sr. District Judge); Magistrate Judges Stephanie Bowman and Karen Litkovitz; Eastern District of Kentucky Magistrate Judge J. Gregory Wehrman; and state court judges Jennifer Sargus (ret.) from the Belmont County Court of Common Pleas and Tom Heekin, newly appointed to the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas.

The dinner featured an awards portion honoring student members of the John W. Peck Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Chapter. A scholarship was awarded to Byron Turner of Northern Kentucky Chase Law School and Connie Kremer of the University of Cincinnati Law School. In addition, the 2016 John Weld Peck Trial Advocacy Award Winners for the University of Cincinnati Law School (Brandon Brown and Darnell Wilson) and Northern Kentucky Chase Law School (Melissa Bodner) were also honored. The John W. Peck Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Chapter has funded the trial advocacy award for 37 years at the University of Cincinnati and established an identical award this year for a deserving Chase Law School student.

The featured speaker was General William K. Suter, the 19th Clerk of Court for the United States Supreme Court. General Suter spoke about the qualities of leadership as he views it following a distinguished career in the Army and 22 years with the Court.

(l to r) Darnell Wilson, Brandon Brown, Melissa Bodner, Dan Donnellon, and Joan Brady

(l to r) Joey Ashbrook, Nathan Colvin, Lauren Kuley, Larisa Vaysman, Rich Nagel, Scott Kane, and Pierre Bergeron

General William K. Suter

(l to r) Joan Brady and Darnell Wilson

(l to r) Beth Bryan, Magistrate Judge Karen Litkovitz, and Stuart Dornette

(l to r) Russell Sayre, Jack Greiner, John Pinney, Judge Tom Heekin, Nick Pieczonka, Joan Brady, and Connie Kremer
Reception Recognizing Chief Judge R. Guy Cole, Jr.

On October 14, 2015, the FBA co-sponsored a cocktail reception celebrating the Honorable R. Guy Cole, Jr. as the first African American Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. Representatives from the Offices of Representative John Boehner and Senator Rob Portman were present, and several speakers provided remarks, including current FBA President Mark K. Vincent, the Honorable Nathaniel Jones (ret.) and the Honorable Edmund A. Sargus, Jr., FBA President-elect the Honorable Michael Newman, Donyetta Bailey and Honorable Jeffery P. Hopkins. The reception was well-attended by both practitioners and federal judges within the Sixth Circuit.
Summer Work Experience in Law ("SWEL") Program

This year, the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky chapter made a significant financial contribution to the Summer Work Experience in Law ("SWEL") program, thus reinforcing the chapter's commitment to diversity in Cincinnati and surrounding communities. SWEL affords African American high school and college students an opportunity for a summer externship in the chambers of a state or federal judge, at a law firm, with city government, a governmental agency, or with the in-house legal department of a corporation. This summer, SWEL students were in the chambers of federal judges in all three cities throughout the Southern District of Ohio: Cincinnati; Columbus; and Dayton. During an end-of-summer luncheon held in Cincinnati -- attended by, among many others, United States District Judges Susan J. Dlott and Timothy S. Black, and United States Magistrate Judge/FBA President-Elect Michael J. Newman -- a plaque was presented to the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky chapter for its significant commitment to, and continuing efforts to support, the SWEL program.

Left to right are chapter president, Kara Czanik; past-chapter president and current SWEL president/summer director, Kenneth L. Parker; and chapter president-elect, Joan Brady.


Connect With Us...